Classifications ICD-11

Relationship to Other Classifications ICD-11 (in development at the time of this publication) uses the term intellectual develop­ mental disorders to indicate that these are disorders that involve impaired brain functioning early in life. These disorders are described in ICD-11 as a metasyndrome occurring in the developmental period analogous to dementia or neurocognitive disorder in later life. There are four subtypes in ICD-11: mild, moderate, severe, and profound.

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) also uses the term intellectual disability with a similar meaning to the term as used in this

Don't use plagiarized sources. Get Your Custom Essay on
Classifications ICD-11
Just from $13/Page
Order Essay











Global Developmental Delay 41

manual. The AAIDD’s classification is multidimensional rather than categorical and is based on the disability construct. Rather than listing specifiers as is done in DSM-5, the AAIDD emphasizes a profile of supports based on severity.


and taste our undisputed quality.